BIEN Congresses

Past Congresses

The 16th BIEN Congress 2016 – Seoul, South Korea

The 16th Congress, “Social and Ecological Transformation and the Basic Income,” was held in Seoul, Republic of Korea, July 7-9, 2016.

For more information, see the conference website:

The 15th BIEN Congress 2014 – Montreal, Canada

The 15th Congress, “Re-Democratizing the Economy,” was held in Montreal, Canada, June 26-29, 2014.

The 14th BIEN Congress 2012 – Munich, Germany

The 14th Congress, on the theme of pathways to a basic income, was held at the Wolf-Ferrari-Haus in Ottobrunn near Munich, Germany, September 14-16, 2012.

For more information, see the congress website:

The 13th BIEN Congress 2010 – São Paulo, Brazil

The 13th Congress, “Basic Income: An Instrument for Justice and Peace,” was held at the Universidade de São Paulo in Brazil, June 30 – July 2. 2010.

Previous Congresses

For reports on the 12th Congress, see NewsFlash 52 (Summer 2008).

For reports on the 11th Congress, see NewsFlash 42 (November 2006).

Download BIEN Congress papers.


1st Congress (4-6 September 1986): Université Catholique de Louvain, Louvain-la-Neuve (Belgium)

2nd Congress (22-24 September 1988): Universitaire Faculteiten St. Ignatius, Antwerp (Belgium)

3rd Congress (19-20 September 1990): European University Institute, Florence (Italy).

4th Congress (18-19 September 1992): Université de Paris-Val-de-Marne, Paris-St-Maur (France)

5th Congress (8-10 September 1994): Goldsmith College, London (United Kingdom)

6th Congress (12-14 September): United Nations Centre, Vienna (Austria)

7th Congress (10-12 September 1998): Universiteit van Amsterdam, Amsterdam (The Netherlands)

8th Congress (6-7 October 2000): Wissenschaftszentrum Berlin, Berlin (Germany)

9th Congress (12-14 September 2002): International Labour Office, Geneva (Switzerland)

10th Congress (19-20 September 2004): Fòrum Universal de les Cultures, Barcelona (Spain)

11th Congress (2-4 November 2006): University of Cape Town, Cape Town (South Africa)

12th Congress (20-21 June 2008): University College Dublin, Dublin (Ireland)

13th Congress (30 June – 2 July 2010): Universidade de São Paulo, São Paulo (Brazil)

14th Congress (14-16 September 2012): Wolf-Ferrari-Haus, Ottobrunn (Germany)

15th Congress (26-29 June 2014): McGill University, Montreal (Canada)

16th Congress (7-9 July 2016): Sogang University, Seoul (Republic of Korea)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *