Executive Committee

Executive Committee posts and postholders

Sarath Davala
Vice chair
Hilde Latour
Julio Aguirre
News service editor
Barb Jacobson
Features editor
Tyler Prochazka
Volunteer recruitment officer
Leah Hamilton
Academic research/editor
Toru Yamamori
Affiliate and public outreach
Julio Linares
Communications and fundraising
Aoife Hegarty
* Treasurer, Mark Wadsworth
* Bank account trustee, Annie Miller
* Bank account trustee, Jake Eliot
* Chair, International Advisory Board, Philippe Van Parijs
(* Not a member of the Executive Committee)

Tasks related to the different posts

The task of the EC

BIEN’s purpose is: To educate the general public about Basic Income, that is, a periodic cash payment delivered to all on an individual basis, without means test or work requirement; to serve as a link between the individuals and groups committed to, or interested in, Basic Income; to stimulate and disseminate research about Basic Income; and to foster informed public discussion on Basic Income throughout the world.

The task of the EC is to ensure that BIEN fulfils its constitutional purpose and to set policy to that end.

General duties of EC members

  • To attend EC meetings, and if not attending to send apologies. At least 50 % of meetings must be attended between one General Assembly and the next
  • To fulfil and develop the tasks related to the post to which you were elected
  • To work with any working group(s) to which you are allocated in order to fulfil the tasks allocated to the group(s) by the chair or the EC
  • To work under the direction of the Chair and Vice-chair and in conformity with policy and initiatives established by the EC

Individual duties


  • To chair meetings of the EC and the General Assembly
  • To propose policy and initiatives for BIEN and to lead them
  • To ensure that decisions made by the EC conform to BIEN’s purpose
  • To take any urgent decisions required between EC meetings
  • To represent BIEN to other organisations and individuals
  • To liaise with congress Local Organising Committees over the content of congresses
  • To submit an annual report to the General Assembly

Vice Chair

  • To fulfil all of the functions of the Chair whenever the Chair is absent
  • To fulfil any of the tasks of the Chair by mutual agreement
  • To support and help the chair in proposing policy goals and initiatives for BIEN and to assist with leading them


  • In consultation with the treasurer, to keep an up to date register of BIEN members and of members of the EC
  • To take minutes of EC and GA meetings
  • In consultation with the Chair, to prepare meeting agendas
  • To prepare papers required by the EC
  • To send agendas, minutes and other papers to EC members before EC meetings and to BIEN members before meetings of the GA
  • To receive correspondence and ensure that it is acted on
  • To undertake correspondence as required by decisions of EC and GA meetings
  • To ensure that all requirements of registration by the UK’s Charity Commission are met
  • To administer elections, including proposing tellers to the EC


  • To keep income and expenditure accounts along with evidence of income and expenditure
  • To make payments as agreed by the EC
  • To submit regular financial reports to EC meetings
  • To prepare annual accounts
  • To liaise with the auditor over auditing of the accounts
  • To prepare budgets if asked to do so by the EC
  • To manage the bank and other accounts
  • To propose financial rules to the EC

BI News Editor

  • In consultation and cooperation with the EC and Chair to develop news policy
  • To oversee BI News posts on the website
  • To issue monthly BIEN Bulletin emails
  • To supervise the work of the volunteers allocated to the news service
  • To ensure that guidelines agreed by the EC are adhered to by volunteers

BI Features Editor

  • In consultation and cooperation with the EC and Chair to develop features policy
  • To identify eminent scholars and policy makers and commission features in line with BIEN policies
  • To oversee BI opinion posts on the website


  • To liaise with other EC members over communication strategy under the general leadership of the Chair
  • To oversee social media
  • To oversee fundraising projects as agreed by the EC and as directed by the Chair

Academic editor/research

  • To oversee any research repositories and/or research communication channels as agreed by the EC and under the direction of the Chair
  • To facilitate research collaborations with other organisations
  • To oversee BI research posts on the website

Affiliate and Social Outreach

  • To maintain an up to date register of affiliated organisations and their contact details
  • To liaise between affiliated organisations and the EC
  • To convene meetings of representatives of affiliated organisations at and between congresses
  • To oversee BIEN’s relationships with international and other organisations in consultation with the Chairs and in conformity with policy set by the EC
  • To assist with convening meetings between BIEN and other organisations both at congresses and on other occasions in consultation with the Chair and in conformity with policy set by the EC

Web-site Manager

  • To manage the website and liaise with its other users in consultation with the Chair and in conformity with policy set by the EC

Volunteer Recruitment Officer 

  • To oversee the recruitment, allocation and training of volunteers
  • In consultation with the Chair and in conformity with policy set by the EC to liaise with volunteers and to manage volunteer policy

Congress Organizer (appointed by the EC and the Local Organising Committee)

  • To co-ordinate the Local Organising Committee (LOC) that plans the congress
  • To liaise between the EC and the LOC by attending EC meetings and in other ways

Bank account trustees

  • To facilitate the relationship between BIEN and the Charity Commission
  • To facilitate the efficient management of the bank account

The General Manager

  • To undertake any tasks delegated by the Chair or other EC members and as agreed by the EC